Castlehill, Edinburgh, EH1 2NE
0131 473 2067
This historic, category A listed building forms an integral part of the architectural fabric of Edinburgh. The Hub’s spire is the highest point in central Edinburgh.
It was constructed between 1842 and 1845, as the Victoria Hall, to house the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland. The architects were James Gillespie Graham and Augustus Welby Pugin. In 1929 the Church of Scotland ceased to use the building and it became a temporary home for a variety of congregations. It was named the Highland Tolbooth St John’s Church in 1956, before falling into disuse in the 1980s.
In 1999, the building was transformed into The Hub, the offices and a performance space for the Edinburgh International Festival. The building is a stunning combination of award winning contemporary design and classic Victorian architecture.
As well as accommodating various events during the International Festival each year, The Hub offers a truly unique and spectacular space for a variety of events, including conferences, banquets, weddings, educational workings and exhibitions.