NES Events | NHS Education for Scotland | Peter Sharp

Forthcoming Events

Professor Peter Sharp

Emeritus Professor of Medical Physics

University of Aberdeen

Emeritus Professor Peter Sharp OBE is the Emeritus Professor of Medical Physics at Aberdeen University. Until his retirement in 2012 he was Head of the Department of Medical Physics and Clinical Director of Medical Physics in Aberdeen. He has been involved in research into imaging techniques for over 40 years; initially in Nuclear Medicine and latterly also in ophthalmology.

He set up the first NHS Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Centre in Scotland and chaired the committee that advised the Scottish Government on the introduction of PET for cancer management for the whole of the Scottish health service.

He has published over 150 papers in peer reviewed journals and 3 books. He has been awarded the Norman Veal Medal of the British Nuclear Medicine Society, the Queen's Anniversary Prize 2000, in recognition of his department’s "Pre-eminence in medical imaging technology for over 30 years", and the Healthcare Science Award from the Scottish Government. In 2013 he was awarded the Lady Margaret MacLellan Prize which is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to medical science in Scotland.

He has been involved in many committees dealing with the training and regulation of healthcare scientists including chairing the Association of Clinical Scientists and the Scottish Forum for Healthcare Science. He set up and chaired RPA2000, a company undertaking the certification of Radiation Protection Advisers on behalf of the Health and Safety Executive, he has been a member of the Science Council’s Registration Authority that monitors standards for the award of Chartered Scientist (CSci), and a member of the Federation for Healthcare Science.

He is past-President of the European Federation of Organisations for Medical Physics, and of the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. In 2012 he was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire for his services to healthcare science.

Back to previous page